Art Foundation logo 2022

National Gallery Logo 2022OTTAWA Tuesday, May 3, 2022— The Sobey Art Foundation and the National Gallery of Canada announced today the twenty-five artists longlisted for the 2022 Sobey Art Award (SAA).   Globally recognized as one of the world’s most generous prizes for contemporary visual artists, the Sobey Art Award is a catalyst for the careers and work of Canadian visual artists of all ages through financial support, an exhibition highlighting the practices of the five shortlisted artists, and national and international recognition. 

“On behalf of the Sobey Art Foundation, we’re proud to champion the twenty-five longlisted visual artists nominated for the 2022 Sobey Art Award in its 20th anniversary year,” said Rob Sobey, Chair, Sobey Art Foundation. “Thank you to the jury and to our presenting partner the National Gallery of Canada. Together, we look forward to seeing more from these exceptional artists, and we are thankful to all the nominators who submitted applications to this year’s award on behalf of gifted artists from across Canada. “

“The Sobey Art Award underscores the importance of contemporary art in Canadian society at large,” said Dr. Sasha Suda, Director and CEO of the National Gallery of Canada. “As Chair of the Jury, I was excited to see so many courageous and exciting artists nominated. Narrowing the slate down to a long list was hard work, and I am extremely grateful to the jurors who had the great task of making this selection. The 2022 Sobey Art Award invites us to celebrate what contemporary artists contribute to Canada today, while offering us optimism for tomorrow."

The 25 visual artists longlisted for the 2022 Sobey Art Award from across the five regions of Canada are:

Tanya Busse 
Hannah Epstein 
Letitia Fraser 
Michelle Sylliboy 
Tyshan Wright 

Stanley Février 
Katherine Melançon 
Michaëlle Sergile 
Joshua Schwebel 
Nico Williams 

Ghazaleh Avarzamani 
Stephanie Temma Hier 
Timothy Yanick Hunter 
Laurie Kang 
Azza El Siddique 

Prairies & North:
Katherine Boyer 
Anna Binta Diallo 
Anna Hawkins 
tīná gúyáńí (Deer Road) collective
Divya Mehra 

West Coast & Yukon:
Derya Akay 
Rydel Cerezo 
Karin Jones 
Krystle Silverfox 
Manuel Axel Strain 

Founded in 2002, the Sobey Art Award is funded by the Sobey Art Foundation and organized and presented by the National Gallery of Canada. The award propels the careers of artists through financial support and recognition in Canada and beyond. 

 The 2022 award structure is as follows:

  • $100,000 to the overall winner
  • $25,000 to each of the four other shortlisted finalists
  • $10,000 to each of the 20 longlisted finalists

An independent jury consisting of curators from five regions (Atlantic Canada, Quebec, Ontario, the Prairies and the North, and the West Coast and Yukon), as well an international juror, oversaw the longlist selection process and will continue to participate for the remaining deliberation rounds.

Celebrating its 20th anniversary year of championing Canadian artists, the Sobey Art Award shines a spotlight on contemporary artists across the country. Sobey award winners over the past 20 years of the prize include Brian Jungen (2002), Annie Pootoogook (2006), Nadia Myre (2014), Ursula Johnson (2017), Kipwani Kiwanga (2018), Stephanie Comilang (2019), and last year’s winner Laakkuluk Williamson Bathory (2021). 

For more information, including biographies of the 2022 longlisted artists, please visit the National Gallery of Canada link here:



For media inquiries, please contact: 

Josée-Britanie Mallet
Senior Officer, Media and Public Relations
National Gallery of Canada

Denise Siele
Senior Manager, Communications
National Gallery of Canada

Bernard Doucet
Executive Director
The Sobey Art Foundation