Longlist Announced for the 2015 Sobey Art Award

The Sobey Art Foundation and the Art Gallery of Nova Scotia are pleased to announce the longlist for the 2015 Sobey Art Award, Canada’s pre-eminent contemporary art award.

Each year the Sobey Art Award is awarded to a visual artist age 40 and under who has exhibited in a public or commercial art gallery within 18 months of being nominated. The 2015 Curatorial Panel has announced that the 25 artists vying for the combined $100,000 in prize money for the 2015 Sobey Art Award are:  

West Coast/Yukon

Fiona Ackerman  Assu Raymond Boisjoly Tiziana La Melia Jeremy Shaw  

Prairies and the North

Cedric Bomford Jason de Haan Sarah Anne Johnson Scott Rogers Kara Uzelman  


Abbas Akhavan Brendan Fernandes Maggie Groat Annie MacDonell Derek Sullivan  


Sophie Bélair Clément Yannick Desranleau & Chloe Lum (Seripop) Jacqueline Hoang Nguyen Allison Katz Jon Rafman  


Jordan Bennett Ursula Johnson Eleanor King Lisa Lipton Zeke Moores  

Detailed biographical information on the 25 longlisted artists and members of the Curatorial Panel is available at www.sobeyartaward.ca  

Sarah Fillmore Chief Curator, Art Gallery of Nova Scotia and Curator, Sobey Art Award says:  

“Contemporary art curators and professionals from across Canada have offered the 2015 Sobey Art Award curatorial panel excellent options for the longlist. This list is the result of considerable deliberation by some of Canada’s most outstanding curators. I thank the nominators and artists whose participation in this process gives Canadians the most enticing annual peek at the future of contemporary Canadian art around the world.”  

The members of the 2015 Curatorial Panel are: West Coast/Yukon: Michelle Jacques, Chief Curator, Art Gallery of Greater Victoria Prairies and the North:  Meeka Walsh, independent curator and Editor, Border Crossings magazine Ontario: Crystal Mowry, Curator,  Kitchener-Waterloo Art Gallery Québec: Mark Lanctôt, Curator, Musée d’Art Contemporain de Montréal Atlantic: David Diviney, Curator of Exhibitions, Art Gallery of Nova Scotia  

This year the Sobey Art Award is delighted to welcome, Josée Drouin Brisebois, Curator of Contemporary Art, at the National Gallery of Canada as a guest curator, representing the pan-national perspective of our Country’s National Gallery.  

The 2015 shortlist of the Sobey Art Award will be announced June 3. Work by the shortlisted artists will be exhibited at the Art Gallery of Nova Scotia, beginning September 26, with the winner being announced at a Gala event in October.


Media contact:   Bernard Doucet | Director, Corporate Affairs | Sobeys | 115 King St., Stellarton, Nova Scotia | 902-752-8371 x 2301 | bernard.doucet@sobeys.com Leslie Tinkham | Director, Development |Art Gallery of Nova Scotia | Office 902-424-0073 | leslie.tinkham@novascotia.ca